Adrian

We all know that Adrian is our Club Coach and that he plays for England in his age group in the VETTS.   In this article, Ollie will be revealing some interesting facts that you may not know about him.

Interviewer: Oliver “Ollie” Ferguson

O: Where did you grow up?

A: I grew up in Coventry, which is where I was born. I was born in Gulson Road Hospital, which is not too far away from where my Mum and Dad used to live

 

O: Are you an only child?

A: No, I’ve got a brother and a sister

O: Are you the oldest?

A: I’m the youngest

 

O: What school did you go to?

A: I went to Aldermoor Farm School and ended up at Ernesford Grange Secondary School

O: Did you like school?

A: Yes

 

O: What did you want to be when you grew up?

A: I was not really sure at the time, when I was younger.

 

O: Apart from table tennis, did you play any other sports at school?

A: I played a good level of tennis. I played for division for GC and the Sphinx with my brother playing doubles. That and table tennis were my main two sports that I enjoyed doing

 

O: When did you take up table tennis and what was your reason?

A: I took up table tennis when I was 14, and the reason I took it up was because my brother played at a very high level and my Dad always used to take him. I happened to be in the car and going to the venues. I spent many years watching him.

 

O: What hobbies do you enjoy going now?

A: Hobbies, that’s a good one. I like to keep fit: cycling and walking, especially during these times. But, my main hobby outside of table tennis has got to be carp fishing.

 

O: Who would you say has been the most influential person in your life? What’s the reason?

A: I would say my wife Mandy because she has been there since day one and she kind of pushed me to carry on the sport and enjoy something you’ve done for many years and got loads of social friends. So, she’s the main person, really.

 

O: Do you have any skills or talents that most other would not know you have?

A: No, I think most people know. I haven’t got many hidden talents. Apart from, maybe the carp fishing; catching big fish on the bank.

 

O: What was your first job and did you like it?

A: My first job was a Saturday job actually. It was in Coventry Retail Market and that was doing upholstery. We had a shop and also a store in the market, which I’d spent 5 or 6 years there and I did enjoy it

O: What other jobs did you have?

A: I did 20 years in the British Aerospace industry and 7 years in the automotive industry. Then I started doing voluntary coaching. It is shame I did not do the 25 years at the Aerospace industry but they shut down, and I took a voluntary redundancy. In the car industry I worked for Brose. I was on the logistics side of it. That was tough due to rotating shifts. 6 till 2, 2 till 10 and 10 till 6. Brose was a contract job that lasted multiple years. The shifts were a big issue but that was all that was available. Unless you’ve actually done the three shifts on a regular basis, it messes your body about. It was tough on Mandy being home alone, but it served a purpose. After that, I did coaching.

 

O: What do you like most about what you do now?

A: The type of job that I do allows a lot of freedom and socialising. It’s important for me, the job that I do, that people are as successful as they possibly can so I get so much enjoyment out of players playing table tennis and the more they improve and seeing them happy. I get a lot out the coaching side.

 

O: What are you proudest of achieving so far?


A: Being a father for the first time to my eldest daughter, going away from table tennis. Most fathers’ first child is a big thing so I would say being a father for the first time.

 

O: Linking back to the last question: do you have any sons or daughters?

A: Yes, I have two daughters: Nikki and Rachel

O: What were the most important values you wanted to teach them?

A: Making sure they get the best education they possibly could and that they follow their goals. They have been driven quite a lot by my wife and I have been there as a back-up as and when needed. So, having a good education and getting the type of job that you want which is not very easy are the values I wanted to get across

 

O: What would your personal motto be to motivate yourself?

A: Mainly just doing the same sort of stuff day in, day out and doing the best you possibly can in what you do and waking up every morning and being healthy and fit

 

O: Is there anything you’d like to say to club members or anyone joining the club?

A: For new members I would certainly look at coming down and having a few sessions and seeing what it is all about. The website has everything you need to see. We’re there with open doors for any level and any age, whether they want to play socially or competitively.